Veterans' Services Commission

The Veterans' Services Commission (VSC) is a Board of Supervisors appointed committee comprised of eight regular members who serve terms of four years. The VSC meets on the fourth Thursday of January, April, July and October at the Solvang Veterans’ Memorial Hall.

Goals and Objectives

  1. Study and advise the Veterans' Service Officer and the Board of Supervisors on special problem areas relating to veterans within the Santa Barbara County and the Tri-County area (San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Ventura Counties) as needed.
  2. Ensure that each person obtain entitlement benefits for which they may be eligible.
  3. Serve as a liaison between the veteran, our Veterans' Service Officer and the Board of Supervisors in order to improve and enhance their relationships and coordinate community activities.
  4. Recommend to the Board of Supervisors such action as may enhance the welfare of veterans located in our service area.

Questions or inquiries can be directed to the County Support Staff, Arlene Diaz, at 805-568-2795

Veterans' Services Commission Members

  • First District
  • Second District
  • Third District
  • Fourth District
  • Fifth District
  • South-At-Large
  • North-At-Large
  • Bob Handy
  • Marcee Davis, Vice Chairman
  • Alvin Salge, Chairman
  • Miguel Kercado
  • Candace McIntosh
  • Peter Haslund
  • Roy Hale

For information regarding the Veterans’ Services Commission sessions and agendas click on:
VSC Agenda

Maps & Directions to Veterans' Services Commission Meetings

Solvang Veterans’ Memorial Hall

  • 1745 Mission Drive
  • Solvang CA 93463