Park Commission

The Park Commission is appointed by the County Board of Supervisors, and subject to their administration and direction. Commissioners each represent one district in the county and serve a 3-year term. You may contact the Park Commission through the Community Services Department at (805) 568-2467.


Sharrie Suzanne (Suzy) Cawthon
District 1

Kyle Begley
District 2

District 3

Steve Strachan
District 4

District 5

Working Goals

Balancing departmental and capital improvement resources to be in harmony with population and community demand to the extent possible; Reviewing departmental policies and actions and meeting with the public to ensure that park policies and actions are well-thought-out and appropriate to community standards;  Providing a forum where the public's input regarding park issues may be completely heard; Acting as an advocate for a strong local park system which is funded to provide beautiful parks and recreation areas with adequate maintenance and development; Advising the Board of Supervisors of the Commission's findings and conclusions.


The County Park Commission normally meets the fourth Thursday of each month at 9:30AM. Note that this meeting schedule is subject to change. Please call (805) 568-2467 for current information about meeting dates and agenda items.

Download the 2022 Park Commission Meeting Schedule

Meeting Archives (Previous Years)


Park Commission Meeting Agenda & Meeting Materials 


January 20, 2022 - Special Meeting Agenda Meeting Packet Minutes
February 24, 2022 - Zoom Agenda Meeting Packet  Minutes
April 28, 2022 - Cachuma Lake Clubhouse - Canceled Cancelation Notice Meeting Packet Minutes
June 23, 2022 - Zoom Agenda Meeting Packet Minutes
August 25, 2022 Agenda Meeting Packet Minutes
October 27, 2022 Agenda Meeting Packet Minutes
December 8, 2022 Agenda Meeting Packet Minutes

Staff Contact:

Eva Camarena
(805) 568-2467